of affiliated composers


Pierre FROIDEBISE was born on May 15, 1914 in Ohey (Condroz) to a well-off family. His father was a retail pharmacist. After secondary school, he was initiated into the organ by the Reverend C. Jaquemin, who gave him a Franckist education and put him in contact with Charles Tournemir.

He continued his studies at the Brussels Conservatory, where his masters were to be R. Moulaert, L. Jongen and J. Absil for writing and P. de Maleingrau for the organ. Having settled in Liège in 1942, Pierre Froidebise became titular organist at the St. Jacques Church and later played at the Grand Séminaire and taught practical harmony at the Conservatory.

Awarded a Second Rome Prize (1943), Pierre Froidebise practised the profession of organist in the broadest sense of the word. His research on ancient organs culminated with the publication of his “Anthology of Organ Music from the Early Painters to the Renaissance”, awarded a Grand Prix du Disque in 1960. However, it would not do him justice if we were to consider only his work as an organist.

His constant intellectual curiosity led him to explore numerous other fields. He took an active interest in aesthetic, oriental literature, Gregorian chant and, above all, in avant-garde music. Initially influenced by Stravinski and then Webern, Froidebise became a convinced dodecaphonist and was in contact with Messiaen, Leibowitz and Boulez. His effect on the younger generation has been decisive. His famous pupils, who acknowledge his influence, include Célestin Deliège and Henri Pousseur. Pierre Froidebise died in Liège on 28 October 1962.

[Anne Froidebise, © CeBeDeM ; English translation ©2004 by CeBeDeM]


  • Amercoeur, 1948
    Soprano, wind quintet and piano 00:05:00
  • Cinq comptines op. 1/2, 1947
    one voice and 11 instruments 00:08:00
  • De l'aube à la nuit, 1934
    orchestra 00:06:00
  • Diptyque, 1936
    organ 00:08:20
  • Dom Japhet d'Arménie, 1956
    2 trp., 2 horns, 2 trb., 2 clar., 2 bsn., 1 harpsichord, 3 timpani and perc. 00:00:00
  • Hommage à Chopin, 1947
    piano 00:04:00
  • La légende de Saint Julien L'Hospitalier, 1940
    piano 00:20:00
  • Le bal chez le voisin, 1954
    orchestra 00:09:00
  • Prélude et fugue, 1936
    organ 00:03:30
  • Sonate, 1938
    violin and piano 00:09:00
  • Sonatine, 1939
    organ 00:05:00
  • Stèle pour Sei Shonagon op. 1/4, 1958
    Soprano and chamber orchestra 00:15:00
  • Suite brève, 1934
    organ 00:05:00
  • Trois pièces pour orgue, 1933
    organ 00:04:00
  • Trois poèmes japonais, 1942
    high voice and orchestra 00:06:00
  • Trois poèmes japonais, 1942
    middle voice and piano 00:06:00
Pages :
1 2