of affiliated composers

DELEUZE, Jean-Pierre

Born in Ath (Belgium) in 1954, Jean-Pierre DELEUZE studied at the Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles. From 1981 to 1986 he worked on Musical Analysis and Composition with Marcel Quinet. A Master Class with Olivier Messiaen in 1987 had an important effect on his esthetic orientation.

His musical language was initially influenced by Alexander Scriabin’s last works, which led him to search for a “harmonically coloured” music. Later he started to introduce microtones into some of his works. In 1998 the Académie Royale de Belgique awarded him the Irène Fuerison Prize for his “Ellipsen” (trio for clarinet, violin and piano). In this work the use of non-tempered sounds led him to build a mode based on the alignment of harmonics. The influence of spectral esthetic and oriental concepts has become more and more present. This is particularly evident in “Quatre Haïku, évocations poétiques pour orgue” (created at Sapporo in 2004) and in “Âlap” (2005) for bansouri, arpeggione and guitar and even in “Vues sur le jardin de lumières” (2009) for piano and string quartet.

In 1989 he was appointed Professor at the Conservatoire Royal de Mons (Belgium). He has developed an original pedagogical program using the critical study of syntax, techniques, forms and styles of great composers from the Renaissance and Baroque periods right through to the techniques of different 20th Century composers. In January 2007 he was elected member of the Académie Royale de Belgique.

[© CeBeDeM]


  • ...Et les sonances montent du temple qui fut, 2012
    small orchestra 00:11:00
  • A un aspirant tué, 2007
    Tenor and organ 00:06:00
  • A un aspirant tué, 2007
    high voice and organ 00:06:00
  • Alâp, 2005
    bansouri, arpeggione and guitar 00:10:00
  • Candrakalâ, 1987
    violin and piano 00:02:30
  • Echos de la Ballade de l'Our, 2009
    flute and recorder 00:07:00
  • Ellipsen, 1998
    violin, clarinet and piano 00:16:00
  • Entrée dans le jardin de lumière, 2007
    organ 00:06:00
  • Espaces oniriques, 2000
    piano 00:13:00
  • Espaces Oniriques II, 2010
    piano solo 00:07:00
  • Irrenhaus, 1989
    Baritone and piano 00:06:00
  • Lethamorphos XXI, 1995
    high voice and piano 00:16:00
  • Lethamorphos XXI, 1995
    Baritone and piano 00:16:00
  • Lethamorphos XXI, 1995
    high voice and organ 00:17:00
  • Maqâm, 2000
    tenor, alto and soprano recorder (1 performer) 00:05:10
  • Meguru
    Baritone( or Tenor), piano, violin, cello, clarinet, bass clarinet, flute and al 00:00:00
  • Mers mortes, 1984
    four-handed piano 00:07:00
  • Quatre Haïku, 2004
    organ 00:15:00
  • Reflets, 2011
    cello and piano 00:07:30
  • Reflets, 2012
    flute, cello and piano 00:08:30
  • Toccata éolienne, 2002
    viola and piano 00:05:00
  • Toccata éolienne, 2002
    arpeggione and piano 00:05:00
  • Tota pulchra es, amica mea, 2010
    choir flute and organ 00:25:00
  • Trois Haiku de Bashô, 2012
    voice and organ 00:08:00
  • Vittoria, 1992
    Baritone and harpsichord 00:07:00
  • Voici l'absence, 2011
    voice and organ 00:33:00
  • Vues sur le jardin de lumière, 2009
    2 violins, viola, cello and piano 00:14:00
Pages :
1 2 3